Building a profitable website (Studiolist.org)
Building a profitable website (Studiolist.org)
Week 6: RECOVERED! - Building Studiolist
1
0:00
-19:29

Week 6: RECOVERED! - Building Studiolist

1

It was a week with 4.5 days of being in bed (it was probably about time that I got sick) and 2.5 days of light-weight productivity. In a way, my body did an act of revenge and got back the tranquility time that I was supposed to have during my sabbatical the week before (which I didn’t have).

Anyway.

This is what happened in week 6 of building Studiolist.org in 2020:

  • Context 00:07

  • Most important things (MITs) 07:20

  • Conclusion 13:55

Context

  • Sick for 4.5 days (Saturday to Wednesday noontime)

  • Yet, I’m kind of back into a work rhythm

  • Single focus vs. duality (I’m not the person to single focus over a long period; I want and need at least 2 activities that I can do half and half, e.g. Studiolist tech business work plus theater group)

  • No Stoic Serenity shows (possible hiatus)

Most important things (MITs)

Studiolist:

  • Tech talk and tech stack: Svelte (via), Tailwind CSS, Node.js

  • did video training about web design that converts (via Copy Chief)

  • 4 new bass traps for my own studio (will be listed on Studiolist in the future)

Copywriting Examples:

  • started working on the mobile website analysis for Gravy For The Brain (first article)

Theater group:

  • Sick leave but communicated online and with prospective new actors to join our group

Obstacles:

  • Sick

Solutions:

  • see my conclusion below

These two things that I originally mentioned last week remain my central areas of:

  • Website Copy Analyses (case studies)

  • Studio profile pages

Conclusion

After the recovery from my cold this week, I now swore to myself:

  1. Eat healthier (and more) to get these 2k calories per day

  2. Work 8-hour days (not these crazy 12–15 hours)

  3. Get out of the house and exercise (more)

Today I stopped working after 8 hours. I could have continued working on the mobile website analysis that I mentioned above, but by intentionally pausing I’m allowing myself to leave work unfinished. I want to practice that and treat myself more sustainably.

Rob W. James who I’ve mentioned last week for the first time also shared a plan to live longer that resonated with me:

Simple plan to live longer:

  1. Sleep more

  2. (Safely) pick up heavy things

  3. Eat things that were grown or raised

  4. Walk more

  5. Sit less

  6. Don’t “take it easy” as you get older

  7. Keep learning & challenging your brain

  8. Stop smoking & drinking

  9. Don’t text and drive

Although I do have occasional thought of wanting to live shorter and end the suffering, I am still too curious to continue.

You can see all my pending todos publicly on WIP.chat: wip.chat/@alexanderkluge/pending.

Take care, and see you next week!

Cheers,
- Alex


Permalink: naii.io/studiolist/6


FYI: Studiolist is the largest search-engine of voiceover recording studios for voiceover artists, audiobook narrators, YouTube creators, and podcasters.

2020 is my last shot to make my 2017-born startup Studiolist.org profitable* with a „labor budget” of 32h a week and a money budget of 12k EUR (which are all my savings).

*profitable means € 770 / mo, because these are my current fix costs: naii.io/2020/costs in an average month.

I’m documenting everything on YouTube (naii.io/youtube) and on my blog naii.io/studiolist with an included newsletter.

1 Comment
Building a profitable website (Studiolist.org)
Building a profitable website (Studiolist.org)
Studiolist is the largest search-engine of voiceover recording studios for voiceover artists, audiobook narrators, YouTube creators, and podcasters. In 2020, I’m documenting how I’m making my 2017-born startup profitable.